Maryilyn Monroe – Pop art

This is an image I popped into some modern-day pop art!  With a little Illustrator fun and Photoshop magic, I created this image.  Adding a zebra print and a bit of color to the backing to finish it off.  Hope you like!  Here’s the image I worked off of in making my pop art.  Of course she’s much prettier than anything I can create of her, but I still love how my pop art of her came out!  I changed it up and gave her some dark hair, though.

Marilyn Monroe quotes - I just love her words of wisdom. 
“I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”

“I believe that everything happens for a reason. People change so that you can learn to let go, things go wrong so that you appreciate them when they’re right, you believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.”

“Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.”

“A wise girl kisses but doesn’t love, listens but doesn’t believe, and leaves before she is left.”

“I am good, but not an angel. I do sin, but I am not the devil. I am just a small girl in a big world trying to find someone to love.”
“If you can make a girl laugh, you can make her do anything.”

“If you’re gonna be two-faced at least make one of them pretty.”

“When it comes down to it, I let them think what they want. If they care enough to bother with what I do, then I’m already better than them.”

“It’s better to be unhappy alone than unhappy with someone.”

“The real lover is the man who can thrill you by kissing your forehead or smiling into your eyes or just staring into space.”

“Give a girl the right shoes, and she can conquer the world.”

“Ever notice how ‘What the hell’ is always the right answer?”

“We should all start to live before we get too old. Fear is stupid. So are regrets.”

“Beneath the makeup and behind the smile I am just a girl who wishes for the world.”

“I’ve never fooled anyone. I’ve let people fool themselves. They didn’t bother to find out who and what I was. Instead they would invent a character for me. I wouldn’t argue with them. They were obviously loving somebody I wasn’t.”

“She was a girl who knew how to be happy even when she was sad. And that’s important—you know ”

“I don’t mind living in a man’s world, as long as I can be a woman in it.”

“Who said nights were for sleep?”

“This life is what you make it. Not matter what, you’re going to mess up sometimes, it’s a universal truth. But the good part is you get to decide how you’re going to mess it up. Girls will be your friends – they’ll act like it anyway. But just remember, some come, somg go. The ones that stay with you through everything – they’re your true best friends. Don’t let go of them. Also remember, sisters make the best friends in the world. As for lovers, well, they’ll come and go too. And babve, I hate to say it, most of them – actually pretty much all of them are going to break your heart, but you can’t give up becuase if you give up, you’ll never find your soul mate. You’ll never find that half who makes you whole and that goes for everything. Just because you fail once, doesn’t mean you’re gonna fail at everything. Keep trying, hold on, and always, always, always believe in yourself, because if you don’t, then who will, sweetie? So keep your head high, keep your chin up, and most importantly, keep smiling, because life’s a beautiful thing and there’s so much to smile about.”

“The nicest thing for me is sleep, then at least I can dream.”

“All little girls should be told they are pretty, even if they aren’t.”

“Women who seek to be equal with men lack ambition.”

“We are all of us stars, and we deserve to twinkle.”

“You believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself.”

“It’s not true that I had nothing on. I had the radio on.”

“If I’d observed all the rules I’d never have got anywhere.”

“It’s often just enough to be with someone. I don’t need to touch them. Not even talk. A feeling passes between you both. You’re not alone.”

“I want to grow old without facelifts. I want to have the courage to be loyal to the face I have made.”

“Success makes so many people hate you. I wish it wasn’t that way. It would be wonderful to enjoy success without seeing envy in the eyes of those around you.”

“its better to be hated for what you are than to be loved for what your not”

“Dogs never bite me. Just humans.”

“I don’t want to make money, I just want to be wonderful.”

“Sex is part of nature. I go along with nature.”

“I don’t mind making jokes, but I don’t want to look like one.”

“I don’t know who invented high heels, but all women owe him a lot!”

“I restore myself when I’m alone.”

“It’s all make believe, isn’t it?”

“You never know what life is like, until you have lived it.”

“Diamonds are a girls best friend.”

“The body is meant to be seen, not all covered up.”

“Hollywood is a place where they’ll pay you a thousand dollars for a kiss and fifty cents for your soul. I know, because I turned down the first offer often enough and held out for the fifty cents.”

“I don’t mind being burdened with being glamorous and sexual. Beauty and femininity are ageless and can’t be contrived, and glamour, although the manufacturers won’t like this, cannot be manufactured. Not real glamour; it’s based on femininity.”

“I’m very definitely a woman and I enjoy it. ”

“I used to think as I looked out on the Hollywood night — there must be thousands of girls sitting alone like me, dreaming of becoming a movie star. But I’m not going to worry about them. I’m dreaming the hardest.”

“If I play a stupid girl and ask a stupid question, I’ve got to follow it through, what am I supposed to do, look intelligent?”

“We are all born sexual creatures,thank God, but it’s a pity so many people despise and crush this natural gift.”

“What do I wear in bed? Why, Chanel No. 5, of course”

“Before marriage, a girl has to make love to a man to hold him. After marriage, she has to hold him to make love to him.”

“Keep smiling, because life is a beautiful thing and there’s so much to smile about.”

“I’ve been on a calendar, but never on time.”
Marilyn Monroe quotes (showing 51-100 of 100)

“I love to do the things the censors won’t pass.”

“I have feelings too. I am still human. All I want is to be loved, for myself and for my talent. ”

“I learned to walk as a baby and I haven’t had a lesson since.”

“A sex symbol becomes a thing. I hate being a thing.”

“I knew I belonged to the public and to the world, not because I was talented or even beautiful, but because I had never belonged to anything or anyone else.”

“I have too many fantasies to be a housewife…. I guess I am a fantasy.”

“Sometimes things fall apart so that better things can fall together”

“Some people have been unkind. If I say I want to grow as an actress, they look at my figure. If I say I want to develop, to learn my craft, they laugh. Somehow they don’t expect me to be serious about my work. ”

“I am invariably late for appointments – sometimes as much as two hours. I’ve tried to change my ways but the things that make me late are too strong, and too pleasing.”

“I’m pretty but I’m not beautiful.  I sin but I’m not the devil. I’m good but I’m not an angel”

“Dreaming about being an actress, is more exciting then being one.”

“Die Liebe und die Arbeit sind die beiden einzigen wahren Dinge in unserem Leben. Sie gehören zusammen, sonst ist es schief. Die Arbeit ist selbst eine Form der Liebe.

Love and work are the only two real things in our lives. They belong together, otherwise it is off. Work is in itself a form of love.”

“I’m for the individual as opposed to the corporation. The way it is the individual is the underdog, and with all the things a corporation has going for them the individual comes out banged on her head. The artist is nothing. It’s really tragic. ”

“Being a sex symbol is a heavy load to carry, especially when one is tired, hurt and bewildered.”

“This life is what you make it. Not matter what, you’re going to mess up sometimes, it’s a universal truth. But the good part is you get to decide how you’re going to mess it up. Girls will be your friends – they’ll act like it anyway. But just remember, some come, somg go. The ones that stay with you through everything – they’re your true best friends. Don’t let go of them.”

“Looking back, I guess I used to play-act all the time. For one thing, it meant I could live in a more interesting world than the one around me. ”

“Friendship is the bestiest thing that comes to life . Friends will always be there for you don’t worry about the fakes worry about the people who had your back from the start and never treated you wrong always remember they are your real friends don’t never take them as granted because one day your going to lose a good friend by the way your action’s are when you see a good friend stick to that person.”

“I read poetry to save time.”

“A career is wonderful, but you can’t curl up with it on a cold night”

“I’ve often stood silent at a party for hours listening to my movie idols turn into dull and little people. ”

“The thing I want more than anything else? I want to have children. I used to feel for every child I had, I would adopt another.”

“I make mistakes, I am out of controls and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”

“Well behaved women rarely make history.”

“Hollywood is a place where they’ll pay you a thousand dollars for a kiss and fifty cents for your soul.”

“When you have a good friend that really cares for you and tires to stick in there with you , you treat them like nothing learn to be a good friend because one day your gonna look up and say I lost a good friend learn how to be respectful to your friends don’t just start aurgements with them and don’t tell them the reason always remember your friends will be there quicker than your family learn too remember you got great friends don’t forgot that and they will always care for you no matter what always remember to smile and look up at what you got in life”

“Nieważne co o mnie myślą, ważne żeby mnie kochali.”

“I just want to be wonderful.”

“How wrong it is for a woman to expect the man to build the world she wants, rather than to create it herself”
“I live to suceed, not to please you or anyone else.”
“Im pretty not beautiful,I sin but Im not the devil, Im good but not an angel”

“A man who can’t handle me at my worst doesn’t deserve me at me best.”

“Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring. When it comes down to it, I let them think what they want. If they care enough to bother with what I do, then I’m already better than them anyways.”

“The trouble with censors is that they worry if a girl has cleavage. They ought to worry if she hasn’t any.”

“A smart girl, kisses but never loves,listens but never believes, and leaves before she is left.”

“I believe everything happens for a reason. People change so you can learn to let go, things go wrong so that you can appreciate them when they go right. You believe lies so that you will eventually learn to trust noone but yourself, and sometimes, good things fall apart so that better things can fall together.”

“Imperfection is beauty, Madness is genious, and its better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.”

“It’s all make believe, isn’t it”

“All a girl really wants is for one guy to prove to her that they are not all the same.”
“Wanting to be someone else, is a waste of the person you are.”

“I have feelings too. I am still human. all I want is to be loved for myself and for my talent.”

“There’s only one sort of natural blonde on earth – albinos.”

“It’s better to be unhappy alone than unhappy with someone.”
— Marilyn Monroe”

“I believe that everything happens for a reason. People change so that you can learn to let go, things go wrong so that you appreciate them when they’re right, you believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together”

“I believe that everything happens for a reason.  People change so that you can learn to let go. Things go wrong so that you appreciate them,
when they’re right. You believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things
can fall together.”

“if your gonna be two-faced, then at least make one of them pretty.”

“hollywood is a place where they pay you a thousand dollars for a kiss and fifty cents for your soul.”

“She was a girl who knew how to be happy even when she was sad. And that’s important—you know ”

“I don’t mind living in a man’s world as long as I can be a woman in it.”

About district818

Hi, everyone! My name is Eva. I'm a court reporter by trade, artist at heart. I'm self-taught in all of my art and am a true believer that you can do anything you set your mind to as long as you really want to do it. Hope you take a look at my digital art and pass on my information. I'm a one-woman operation and am looking to meet new people, hopefully you! I don't know much about this Wordpress or how it works, but I'll be figuring it out on my own, as I do everything else in life. Thank you in advance for visiting my blog! Please visit my PeaceHeartEtc shop and when you're done there, feel free to visit my other little shop. A bit more disorganized, but still fun: District818 Store .
This entry was posted in District818 info and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maryilyn Monroe – Pop art

  1. Roguish says:

    Love the Marilyn Monroe quotes. She was a lot smarter than the dumb blonde characters she played. Why did you base your artwork on an image of Lisa Marie Presley made up as Marilyn? It’s an imitation of an imitation.

    • district818 says:

      Is it really? Yes, her quotes were brilliant. That’s for sure. Too many favorites to pick. Good question. I really thought the pic was of Marilyn. Are you sure it’s Lisa Marie Presley? I had no idea. Anyhow, if you’re right, then I did an imitation of an imitation! I didn’t know it was Lisa Marie. I thought it was Marilyn. If it’s not Marilyn, then Lisa Marie did a pretty good job at imitating Marilyn in the picture she took.

Leave a comment