How to make Thai Tom Yum soup

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Ingredients you will need:  spice paste for Thai Tom Yum Soup, one can of coconut milk, one can of straw mushrooms, 2 pieces of lemon grass, half a pound of shrimp, and cilantro.

This soup is so easy to make and very tasty.  If you want to make it all you have to do is find a local Asian market to make purchasing your ingredients very simple.

Add water to your pot to bring to a boil.  The water in the pot we used was about a little over a quarter filled.  It might seem like a small amount of soup will be made but keep in mind that one can of coconut milk will be added and you will also be adding once the soup is ready some rice to each new serving which will bulk it up.

First take two pieces of lemon grass, wash and dice them as demonstrated in the picture.

Add your lemon grass into the pot.  The lemon grass is only there for the flavor and is not edible.  The reason it is important to add lemon grass at the beginning is so that it has time to flavor the soup while you ate busy adding all of the other ingredients.

Then comes the little shrimp. Remove the skins and de-vein those little guys.  We used about a half a pound of shrimp here.

Then strain your straw mushrooms.

Add mushrooms to the pot along with your shrimp.

Add a a little salt as well.

Next add the soup paste that you bought and stir it all up.

The last two things you will add are the cilantro which has been washed and diced along with the coconut milk.   Stir it all up.  And there you go.  Your meal is ready to be served!

Don’t forget to make some rice so that can be added to each bowl that you serve.  It will thicken up your soup turning into a meal of its own.

Hope I didn’t leave anything out.  Next time I will document how to make shrimp pad Thai.

Thanks for visiting!

About district818

Hi, everyone! My name is Eva. I'm a court reporter by trade, artist at heart. I'm self-taught in all of my art and am a true believer that you can do anything you set your mind to as long as you really want to do it. Hope you take a look at my digital art and pass on my information. I'm a one-woman operation and am looking to meet new people, hopefully you! I don't know much about this Wordpress or how it works, but I'll be figuring it out on my own, as I do everything else in life. Thank you in advance for visiting my blog! Please visit my PeaceHeartEtc shop and when you're done there, feel free to visit my other little shop. A bit more disorganized, but still fun: District818 Store .
This entry was posted in District818 info and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

