Are you the creative type and want to work from home?

Work from home!

It’s very easy to find something you like to do and work from home.  First, decide what it is that you are interested in getting into.

If you’re the creative type, this is for you.

Do you have some kind of craft that you do already but you just don’t know how to get it online?  Is eBay just way too confusing for you?  How about looking into getting an Etsy account and signing up, owning a little Etsy store where you can show off your creativity?  It’s very easy to do.  It’s free to sign up.  The way it works is that each item you list costs you 20 to list, which really isn’t that much.

Now, you can’t just list one item and think oh, someone’s going to come and buy it.  Sure, maybe someone will come along and see your item and buy it.  But it would be good to have your store filled up a little.  Let’s say you have about 20 items, and each week you fill it up with five or ten more.  Then your store will really build fast.

What is Etsy?  Never heard of it?

It’s http://www.ETSY.com, and it’s a site that has mostly artists looking to sell their artwork on line.

Unlike eBay, you’re not paying a whole lot each time you list the item.  It’s only 20.  And only if the item sells do you get a fee taken out.  I believe they take out 3.75 percent from the price you sold the item for.  So let’s say you had an item listed for $25, that means that Etsy will take out .93 cents, which is just under a dollar, if my math is right.  Plus the .20 cents, which was your initial fee for listing the item.  So you would end up making just about $24 on the item.  And I believe PayPal also takes a small fee for collecting the money from the purchaser, so from that $25 you might end up spending $2.00 in fees for selling your product on‑line.

One way to recoup some of the money you got charged from Etsy and PayPal is to increase your shipping expenses.  Etsy does not touch your shipping fee and I don’t believe that Paypal does either.

How do you get started?  Go to http://www.Etsy.com.

On the top left‑hand side there’s a “register” button.  Click on it.  Now just fill that out.  Pick a username that you’re going to be happy with.  There are lots of names that are taken, but if you’re creative enough you’ll think up something that no one else has.  This will be the name of your store and you cannot change it.  So make sure you are happy with it for your username.

Once you have all of this filled out, then now all we need to do is hook you up to a PayPal account.  What’s the point of having a PayPal account?  What is PayPal?  It’s kind of like having a bank account in cyberspace.  Go to http://www.PayPal.com and sign up there.

So now that you’re signed up with PayPal, it gives people an option to pay you through PayPal, which is very easy for most people.

PayPal will link up to your personal bank account, so later on when you start to have a sum of money in your PayPal account and you want to actually use it, you can just easily transfer it on line to your bank account.

it’s very easy to set up.  And if you have any problems, all you have to do is call.  PayPal’s phone number is 1(402)935‑2050 and they are very helpful.  Someone should be able to help you get the information you need to finish getting set up.

Now all you have to do is make sure your e‑mail on your Etsy account will match your e‑mail that you want customers to pay you on PayPal.  When you recieve a message from Etsy saying that a product has sold, make sure you wait for confirmation that money has been paid to your e‑mail address at your PayPal account before you automatically send away the handmade product you worked very hard on.  Sure, it might be exciting to get the message that something sold, but be sure to wait for the money before you send it.

This all might seem intimidating to you at first, but once you are signed up and list your first item, you will then get the hang of it.

There are pros and cons to having an Etsy store as opposed to having your own.  But if you are just starting out, I highly recommend setting up a small shop and seeing what kind of volume you are selling first before taking on the step of dealing with having credit card merchant accounts.

When selling on Etsy, I recommend posting items throughout the day as opposed to just posting everything at once in one sitting.  People from all over the world look at Etsy and you might catch people in another state or country if you post at different times.  And do not ‑‑ I repeat, do not post the same item more than once even though you might have three of the same item for sale.  First you’ll just be spending .20 extra cents on each listing.  And if the one item doesn’t sell in the first place, you just wasted a bunch of money ‑‑ well, not really a bunch, but enough to be annoyed.

Your listings only stay on Etsy for about three months’ time, so you have to keep posting to keep your store open.

There are chat forums you can go to when you’re signed into Etsy, and it’s a good way to find out what the Etsy community is doing and how to better your own sales.

Now all you need is business cards, an avatar or icon, and a banner for your page.  What else do you need?

You would need a digital camera, a computer with high‑speed internet access, and a good use of your vocabulary.  When listing items you will want to make sure you use as much detail in your description as possible as well as using the correct tag words.  What are “tag words”?  Tag words help the user looking to buy find what it is they’re looking for.  So for me, for instance, when listing my fused glass jewelry I’ll add words that are descriptive of what you’re selling like:  Dichroic glass, fused glass, jewelry.   And so on.  You get the idea.

Please note that this is only one way to work from home.  There are many other ways to work from home, which I will be talking about shortly, but I just thought I’d share this with you all.  It’s a great way to get started.  Here are a few items that I’ve sold at my Etsy Store.   Click to see some of my amazing fused glass jewelry.  Right now I put my store on vacation mode so that I can get my other store, district818 store up and running, but I’m hoping to soon reopen my Etsy store, where I will be listing my fused glass jewelry once again.

If you need any help at all or have a store that is creative and would like to exchange links with me on my personal website, just let me know.  I’d love to exchange links with you.

 

About district818

Hi, everyone! My name is Eva. I'm a court reporter by trade, artist at heart. I'm self-taught in all of my art and am a true believer that you can do anything you set your mind to as long as you really want to do it. Hope you take a look at my digital art and pass on my information. I'm a one-woman operation and am looking to meet new people, hopefully you! I don't know much about this Wordpress or how it works, but I'll be figuring it out on my own, as I do everything else in life. Thank you in advance for visiting my blog! Please visit my PeaceHeartEtc shop and when you're done there, feel free to visit my other little shop. A bit more disorganized, but still fun: District818 Store .
This entry was posted in District818 info and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

